Friday Fun and Fall Reading Challenge Update

When I started my personal fall reading challenge, the point was to read off my own shelves. I pick up a lot of books at conferences, events, and because you know, I like books.

Let’s just say that “like” of books is a little hard to wrangle.

I live in a big city, so […]

Book Review: The Girl is Murder (#1) by Kathryn Miller Haines

The Girl is Murder (#1 in series) by: Kathryn Miller Haines Young Adult Historical/Mystery Published: 2011

image: Goodreads

I’m always on the lookout for unique settings and different time periods for YA fiction. In this series, 15-year-old Iris lost her mother to suicide and her father just returned injured from the war, World War II […]

Book Review: Every Day by David Levithan

Every Day David Levithan Published: 2012 YA Contemporary/Fantasy (Audiobook)

image: Goodreads

This book is high concept, so once you accept that the character “A” moves in and out of other bodies for 24 hours at a time–with little explanation–then this story is pretty much amazing. The body switching is the central issue, so it […]

Book Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Cinder Marissa Meyer YA Fantasy Published: 2012

image: Goodreads

Cyborg Cinderella–who can resist?

I dismissed this book early on as another mash-up in the vein of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (awesome) or Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters (not so much). There’s even an Android Karenina. I kept seeing such positive reviews, I knew I […]

Permalink

Clockwork Prince Cassandra Clare YA Paranormal (series) Published: 2011

“Will has always been the brighter burning star, the one to catch attention — but Jem is a steady flame, unwavering and honest.”

Clockwork Prince delves deeper into the lives of the characters from Clockwork Angel. In the second book of the Infernal Devices series, […]

Book Review: Countdown by Deborah Wiles

Countdown Deborah Wiles Published: 2010 Middle Grade Historical

“The secret to not being afraid is to understand what scares you.”

I picked up Countdown in my search for YA historical set in the 1960s and didn’t realize this was actually a middle grade book (so, still looking for 1960s-set YA!). The story details the experience […]

Reading, Reading and More Reading

I’ve been reading a ton lately. I’m currently reading 3 books using 3 different mediums: print, Kindle for Android, and audiobook in the car.

My current print choice is The Dead Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan  (YA), a companion book to The Forest of Hands and Teeth. I had mixed feelings about Forest, but after meeting […]

The Digital Age of Books

It seems a major sea change is occurring in the Publishing industry. I know this because I’ve been reading Publisher’s Weekly emails for about 3 weeks now. I hear it only takes 3 weeks to become an expert in a topic.

Or something.

Anyway, so this blurb about Harper Collins releasing only a few audio […]

Audio Books

I went through a phase a few years ago listening to audio books. It was a great way to change up the commute to work, and my yearly reading list doubled.

The thing with audio books, at least with me, is that it is quite a challenge to find the right kind of book […]